You cannot be successful without failing

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed.” Michael Jordan

Ever wonder why some people are so good at what they do? Why that is? How come they are so successful at what they do, and why it seems way harder for you to do the same exact thing?

It all comes down to this trait that successful people have in common: Grit. This trait- which is defined as strength and resolve- is a trait we all have, but is not developed by all. Grit means continuously stretching yourself beyond your capabilities, which includes failing and making mistakes. What makes people who are grity successful is that they don’t give up because of the failures or mistakes.

Though this is an hour long video, this TED Talk by Angela Lee Duckworth is worth watching. When my math teacher had me watch this last semester, it changed my perspective on success completely. It also helped me to understand that it’s important I make mistakes to find out what works and what doesn’t, and that though I may make them a lot, or even fail from time to time, the important things are that I am trying and striving to progress.

Whether you are trying to kick a bad habit or start a good one, don’t be discouraged by failures or mistakes but rather be gritty about them. You may actually be on the right path after all!

Leave a Reply

