Thank You Thursday

Sometimes, the hardest thing for me to do is be grateful, even though I know it’s the key to happiness. Not so much when circumstances go the way I plan, but more like when they don’t or when they are moving slower than I’d like. I seem to forget in these times where I’ve came from and what I’ve accomplished thus far because I am hyper focused on immediate results from whatever it is I’m working on in the now. I’ve learned that when I feel like this in the present, it is an opportunity for me to reflect on what I’ve been grateful for in the past.

I love this commercial because it’s true; sometimes you have to go back and remind yourself of all the hurdles and obstacles you’ve already overcome to help with the obstacles you are going through right now.

My best friend Kevin passed away two years ago after a relapse. When I attended his funeral, his uncle was the first to speak when It was time to share, and spoke about hope in times where one might feel like giving up, and using past experiences as part of that hope to help get through those times. He gave me a copy of what he said so I’d be sure to not forget.

kevin

So in honor of Thank You Thursday, I am thankful for what I’ve already overcome, and thankful in advance that my current circumstances will fall in line with my past triumphs. I am even more grateful for those who randomly have helped me over the years by reminding me to do this.

Leave a Reply

