Warriors need their sleep

The best way to combat a habit is with sleep.

They have this acronym in support groups called HALT. Hungry Angry Lonely Tired. it’s been my experience that when I’m tried I feel hungry, angry, and lonely. When I’m fatigue, I’m moody. I feel like a crazy person who’s vulnerable to making mistake and the circular thinking becomes stronger, making me feel like I don’t have a fighting chance.

If you’ve been overwhelmed and lacking the energy to stick to your guns, chances are you are like me and need to get better sleep. Life won’t stop happening because we want to work on ourselves, but with better sleep your resistance to stress will give you more discipline over your feelings. You won’t feel as though the world is throwing lemon juice on your nerve endings.

By Mikael Häggström (All used images are in public domain.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Your’re not crazy, you’re tried

I found some tips online that I’ve practiced myself to develop a bedtime routine. Remember, we are creatures of habit and develop sleep patterns too. The trick to better sleep is what you do before to wind down. Taking a bubble bath, reading, sipping hot tea, and listening to calming music are some. Another that I do is a guided meditation when  anxious to stop the excessive thinking about how tired I am and how bad I need sleep.

Some of you might be fighting for you life right now like I had been and it can be overwhelming, but it’s not impossible. Actually, it’s so much easier than you think with good rest. Warriors need their sleep.

Leave a Reply

